Theodore and Sophie (Dalager) Ogdahl: A History

Theodore Ogdahl was born in Dodge County, in south central Minnesota on December 8th 1868. He was the son of Thore (Ogdahl) Thoresen and Astri Olsdatter. Three years later his father and others, with their covered wagons and teams of oxen, started out for the northwest. They homesteaded in Kandiyohi County in the area of Sundberg and Norway Lake. They had not traveled far from Dodge County but travel in a covered wagon pulled by oxen was slow. Theodore grew to manhood in this area.

Sophia Oline Dalager was the second daughter of Ingeborg and Hans Dalager, a prominent farmer in the Glenwood, Minnesota area. Sophia was born March 10, 1874 on the farm in Barsness township where she grew to a adulthood. Pioneer life was hard and Sophia learned to work hard. She was sixteen years old when Theodore and Sophia were married.

The following letter was written before Sophia and Theodore were married. It was written to Julia Dalager, a cousin, who lived in Webster, S. D. Her sister Anna Sophia, had married John McCarlson July 28, 1888 and Sophia was anxious to get a picture of the couple. The letter was written in Norwegian and was translated into English by Estelle Grinde on September 6, 1998.

October 10, 1889

Dear Cousin,

Now since it is a long time since I have heard from you so now I will take pen in my hand and send you a few lines. I will first tell you that we are all well and healthy and I wish the same for you. I would like to hear from you again. We shall now have threshers tomorrow and now we are busy with that. Jennie is not home as she teaches school north of Lake Minnewaska. She will come home to visit in about two weeks when there is confirmation. Then Hannah Ronning, Emma Billehuus and Peter Gilbertson and many more will be confirmed. I wish that you could be here then.

You must greet Sophia from me and tell her I would like a portrait or picture of her and her husband and I will have a picture of my husband and me when you come. I do not have much news to tell you when I am so busy. A friendly greeting to everyone from us all with special greeting to Sophia.

Write soon in return. Ask Sophia to send me a portrait of her and her husband and I will have hers also.

Good By, Remember well and bare in mind

A good true friend is hard to find

But when you have found one just and true

Change not the old one for a new.

Excuse my poor writing-I am in such a hurry.

By, By

From your Friend

Sophia Dalager, Glenwood, Minn

Theodore and Sophia were married in the Barsness Lutheran church on July 14, 1890 with Rev. M. G. R. Skaar officiating. Sophia’s attendants were Jennie Dalager Grove and Gunild Ogdahl Braaten. Theodore’s attendants were Lars Holten and Ole Ogdahl. The day had started out with a lovely summer rain in the morning. In the afternoon the sun had come out and chased the clouds away. It seemed that the entire country side gathered at the church. Many came afoot while others drove in buggies or wagons with spring seats on them.

Following the wedding ceremony a reception was held at the Dalager farm. Following this reception Mr. And Mrs. Ogdahl went at once to Norway Lake to Theodore’s parent’s farm where another reception was held. When guests arrived at the Ogdahl farm a man stood at the gate playing selections as the guests filed into the house. The gallant groom carried his bride over the threshold. The festivities, which began with an elegant dinner, lasted well into the night.

No comments yet

Leave a comment